Awards & Scholarships

Congratulations to our 2015 Awards & Scholarship Recipients!

View all 2015 award & scholarship recipients 

SOPHE confers awards to faculty, practitioners, students and chapters in more than 15 categories. Read below to find out the details for each type of award, requirements, and upcoming deadlines.

2016 Awards & Scholarship Applications will open in August. 

Student Awards

SOPHE offers a variety of award opportunities for graduate and undergraduate student members. Click here to see student awards and application details.

Honorary Fellow Award. This is SOPHE's highest form of recognition for a NON-SOPHE member. This award recognizes a person who has made exemplary and lasting contributions to the field of health education and public health. (The recipient of this award is selected by the SOPHE Executive Committee.) Applications are closed.


SOPHE Trophy. This award is given by the President to honor a SOPHE member who has devoted substantial service to the Society. (The recipient of this award is selected by the SOPHE President.) Applications are closed.


Distinguished Fellow Award. This is SOPHE's highest form of recognition for a SOPHE member. The award recognizes individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to SOPHE and the profession of health education. Applications are closed.


Health Educator Mentor Award. This award recognizes individuals who have provided excellence in mentorship to health educators in their preparation, performance, and practice; and have served to successfully bridge the rift between practice and research. Applications are closed.


Program Excellence Award. This award recognizes outstanding health education programs (not agencies) in existence for at least three years. Applications are closed

Dorothy Nyswander Open
Society Award. This award will be given each year to recognize an individual or group who embodies and promotes an Open Society, through research, practice, and/or teaching. Deadline extended to November 21st. 

Chapter Award for Excellence.
This award seeks to recognize and publicize creative, effective and replicable methods implemented by SOPHE chapters to deliver one or more core member services. The innovation must be designed for effective delivery of one or more of the following chapter core services: membership, fiscal management, board and leadership development, communications, continuing education, alignment of chapter and national strategic plans, and/or bylaws and policies. Any chapter with active designation status in national SOPHE may be nominated. Applications are closed

The Horizon Award. This award recognizes early career health educators who have distinguished themselves as promising health educators through leadership, creativity, involvement in the profession, and health education practice in their setting. Applications are closed 

The Technology Award.
This award recognizes individuals or groups who have distinguished themselves by applying innovative, non-commercial technology in health education that can be broadly disseminated and has the potential to make a significant impact in health education practice. Applications are closed.

Lawrence W. Green Paper of the Year Award.  This annual award is presented to authors of a paper published in Health Education & Behavior (HEB) that has made a significant contribution to the health behavior and health education literature.  Past honorees have advanced theoretical foundations of health behavior, utilized innovative quantitative or qualitative methodologies, or have conducted programs and evaluations that strengthen the scientific evidence base for social and behavioral change. The award of $1000 is presented at the SOPHE Annual Meeting Awards Banquet each year and is named for Dr. Green, a former HEB editor whose leadership helped advance the stature and recognition of both the journal and the field of health education. Applications are closed.

Sarah Mazelis Paper of the Year Award. The Sarah Mazelis Paper of the Year Award recognizes authors whose peer-reviewed articles in Health Promotion Practice have made significant contributions to advancing the practice of health education and health promotion programs, policy, or professional preparation. Each year, the Associate Editors of Health Promotion Practice vote upon the best paper of the year. The award is then presented at the SOPHE Annual Meeting. Applications are closed.